Regions in South Africa

South Africa is made up of 10 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in South Africa. Information on all primary administrative regions in South Africa.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in South Africa alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in South Africa

There are 10 regions in South Africa in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in South Africa
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Eastern Cape Eastern Cape1.6,676,590Bhisho Bhisho137,287
Gauteng Gauteng2.16,100,000Johannesburg Johannesburg5,635,127
Gauteng Gauteng3.16,100,000Pretoria Pretoria1,619,438
KwaZulu-Natal KwaZulu-Natal4.11,513,575Pietermaritzburg Pietermaritzburg750,845
Limpopo Limpopo5.5,926,724Polokwane Polokwane123,749
Mpumalanga Mpumalanga6.4,743,584Nelspruit Nelspruit110,159
North-West North West7.4,122,854Mahikeng Mahikeng14,000
Northern Cape Northern Cape8.1,303,047Kimberley Kimberley142,089
Orange Free State Free State9.2,932,441Bloemfontein Bloemfontein556,000
Western Cape Western Cape10.7,113,776Cape Town Cape Town4,710,000