This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in South Africa

South Africa is made up of 10 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in South Africa. Information on all primary administrative regions in South Africa.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in South Africa alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in South Africa

There are 10 regions in South Africa in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in South Africa
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Western Cape Province of the Western Cape1.4,988,154Cape Town Cape Town3,433,441
Gauteng Gauteng2.10,058,121Johannesburg Johannesburg2,026,469
Gauteng Gauteng3.10,058,121Pretoria Pretoria1,619,438
KwaZulu-Natal Province of KwaZulu-Natal4.10,154,469Pietermaritzburg Pietermaritzburg750,845
Orange Free State Free State5.2,740,946Bloemfontein Bloemfontein463,064
Northern Cape Province of Northern Cape6.819,380Kimberley Kimberley142,089
Eastern Cape Eastern Cape7.6,490,714Bhisho Bhisho137,287
Limpopo Limpopo8.5,494,928Polokwane Polokwane123,749
Mpumalanga Mpumalanga9.3,409,743Nelspruit Nelspruit110,159
North-West Province of North West10.3,895,126Mahikeng Mahikeng14,000